Brain Dead and Oakley Factory Team’s Chop Saw Serves Gorpcore Retro-Futurism

Brain Dead x Oakley Factory Team is the collaboration we never knew we needed, delivering divisive footwear from the past that simultaneously sets the tone for the future of fashion trends — and now the duo is back with the Chop Saw arriving in “Brown/Mint/Black.”

Following on from past sell-out drops, the new release is expected to be no different. In fact, because the Chop Saw silhouette is more practical with its lace-up closure, this silhouette could sell out even faster given the current season we’re living in.

With seasonal themes on the mind, it seems that Brain Dead has taken a wintery approach to its next design. Brown suede works alongside black synthetic weather-proofing on the eyelet placket and heel, while open-pore mesh in mint hits the vamp, mid-panel, tongue and collar surround.

Other elements from the red Oakley-branded webbing heel tab to the metal Oakley logo on the mids and multi-piece sole unit round out the retro-futuristic sneaker. Combined, Brain Dead and Oakley Factory Team are serving the final form of dad-level gorpcore, and it’s doing the latter justice as it becomes a consistent mainstay in many a footwear rotation (assuming you can get your hands on a pair).

The Brain Dead x Oakley Factory Team Chop Saw in “Brown/Mint/Black” releases on December 13 at 10 a.m. PST/2 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. GMT at Brain Dead stores and online. Additionally, the BD Flesh Pack and Chop Saw, Mainline Flesh Pack and Chop Saw will all release at a Shanghai pop-up store that opens on December 10 and closes on December 18 — more information can be found here.

For more daring footwear, check out Off-White™’s Out of Office mules.

Click here to view full gallery at Hypebeast

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy